American Beauty

Studio Album

Released: 1971


Box Of Rain [5:16]
Friend Of The Devil [3:20]
Sugar Magnolia [3:15]
Operator [2:21]
Candyman [5:12]
Ripple [4:10]
Brokedown Palace [4:18]
Till The Morning Comes [3:13]
Attics Of My Life [5:09]
Truckin' [5:09]


Liner Notes:

Formed in 1967 [sic], The Grateful Dead championed the free-form improvisational sound that defined San Francisco rock & roll in the 60's. Jerry Garcia (guitar), Phil Lesh (bass), Bob Weir (guitar), Ron "Pigpen" McKernan (keyboards) and Bill Kreutzmann (drums) made up the original band. In 1968 they added Mickey Hart to the line-up.

The band's first four albums, Grateful Dead (1967), Anthem of the Sun (1968), Aoxomoxoa (1969) and Live Dead (1970) concentrated on capturing the band's legendary live sound on vinyl. On Workingman's Dead (1970), the band returned to its American musical roots with a selection of blues, country and folk-styled originals.

The trend continued with American Beauty (1971). Produced by the Grateful Dead, the album contains 10 original selections showcasing the band's songwriting skills. Three cuts, "Truckin'," "Box Of Rain," and "Ripple," received considerable FM radio play, while songs such as "Sugar Magnolia" and "Friend Of The Devil" became standards in the group's concert repertoire. American Beauty's country-blues feel was enhanced by guest performances from famed mandolin player David Grisman, guitarist Dave Nelson (of New Riders Of The Purple Sage) and others.



Produced by the Grateful Dead
Co-producer: Audio-Steve Barncard
Recorded at Wally Heider Studios in San Francisco
Compact Disc Mastering Approved by The Grateful Dead
CDD Pre-Mastering by Joe Gastwirt. Assisted by Dave Collins.
The Dead:
Jerry Garcia - guitar, pedal steel, piano, vocals
Phil Lesh - bass, guitar, piano, vocals
Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
Pig Pen (Ron McKernan) - harmonica, vocals
Mickey Hart - percussion
Bill Kreutzmann - drums
Robert Hunter - songwriter

Thanks to:
Dave Torbert (bass on "Box Of Rain")
Dave Nelson (electric guitar on "Box Of Rain")
David Grisman (mandolin on "Friend Of The Devil" and "Ripple")
Howard Wales (organ on "Candyman" and "Truckin'" and piano on "Brokedown Palace")
Ned Lagin (piano on "Candyman")
New Riders Of The Purple Sage

Artwork: Kelly-Mouse Studios.



Add this Album to your Collection




American Beauty was released in November 1970.

GD Songfinder | GD Reference Site | GD Album Reference